50 years of Mercedes-AMG in racing

With 177 racing victories, ten Drivers’, 13 Team and six Constructors’ titles, Mercedes-AMG is the most successful brand in the history of the DTM, the most challenging racing touring car series in the world. The C-Class in its various model generations has at the same time become the most successful racing touring car in history. The FIA GT World Championship, in which AMG won each of the eleven races in the 1998 season with the CLK GTR and the CLK-LM, also features in the AMG track record.

Since 2012 AMG has also been synonymous with peak sporty performance and major successes in FIA Formula 1. From 2014 to 2016 the MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS team won the Constructors’ and the Drivers’ World Championship three times in succession with Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. Since 1996 Mercedes-AMG has provided the Safety Car and the Medical Car in Formula 1.

Over and above this the brand is successfully committed to customer motorsport and has won legendary long-distance classics and numerous championship titles with the SLS AMG GT3 and the AMG GT3.
• AMG was founded in Burgstall in 1967 by Hans-Werner Aufrecht and Erhard Melcher as an “engineering office, design and testing for the development of racing engines”. The letters stood for Aufrecht, Melcher and Großaspach – the birthplace of Aufrecht.

• In 1971, AMG became famous overnight, with the red-painted AMG 300 SEL 6.8 winning its class in supreme style at the Spa Francorchamps 24-hour race while finishing second in the overall classification.

• The plant in Affalterbach was founded in 1976. In a newly constructed building, the racing engine workshop evolved into a manufacturer of sports saloons and coupés.

• 1980 Clemens Schickentanz and Jörg Denzel in the 276 kW/375 hp Mercedes-Benz 450 SLC AMG won the Touring Car Grand Prix on the North Loop at Nürburgring.
• 1986 With a Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3-16, prepared by AMG, from the private racing team Dr Helmut Marko, Volker Weidler won the Eifel Race and the Avus Race as part of the emergent DTM. Driver Volker Weidler also took the DTM Vice Championship. Further podium places consolidated the reputation of AMG as a manufacturer of reliable and winning racing technology.

• 1988 Mercedes-Benz and AMG began their official partnership in motorsport. Right from the word go the team work was a great success: with the rebuilt Mercedes-AMG 190 E 2.3-16 Johnny Cecotto and Danny Snobek clocked up six wins. Plus there were a few second places from Roland Asch and Alain Cudini.

• 1994 A sensational start for the new Mercedes-AMG C-Class with a six-cylinder engine: the new racing car was the benchmark for all the competitors. Klaus Ludwig became DTM Champion from the off with three wins and many podium places. Jörg van Ommen became Vice Champion. Five further number 1 positions were attained by Kurt Thiim, Bernd Schneider and Jörg van Ommen.

• 1996 The C 36 AMG became the first “Official F1 Safety Car” and “Official F1 Medical Car” from Mercedes-AMG. This marked the beginning of a long tradition which continues to this day.

• 1997 In the newly created international FIA-GT Championship there were some tempting challenges in store. In just 128 days the AMG Motorsport Team designed a completely new racing car for the GT1 Class, the CLK-GTR. Proven talents like Bernd Schneider and Klaus Ludwig were taken on board as drivers. This was a recipe for success: AMG won six races, and Bernd Schneider promptly won the Championship. Five of the first ten places were occupied by the cars from Affalterbach. Ralf Schumacher, then a Formula 1 newcomer at Jordan, also once drove this Silver Arrow: on the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.

• 2000 The DTM celebrated a spectacular comeback as the German Touring Car Masters. AMG again took part with the completely new CLK-DTM based on the new coupé; Bernd Schneider and Klaus Ludwig were at the wheel. This unbeatable combination determined the outcome of the Championship on its own terms. Bernd Schneider celebrated six victories, with Klaus Ludwig winning two races.

• 2004 The C-Class DTM took over from the successful CLK-DTM. The young star Gary Paffett became Vice Champion. AMG and Mercedes-Benz took second place in the Team and Constructors’ Championship respectively.

• 2011 The exclusive world of customer racing is entered with the SLS AMG GT3.

• 2013 The SLS AMG GT3 won all the major 24-hour races: Dubai, Nürburgring, Spa-Francorchamps.

• 2016 The Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team took the Constructors’ World Championship title for the third time in succession, whilst Nico Rosberg became Drivers’ World Champion and Lewis Hamilton Vice World Champion.