Rally Dakar

The adventure began in 1977. Thierry Sabine got lost on his motorcycle in the Libyan desert during the Abidjan-Nice rally. “Rescued from the sands” in extremis, he returned to France defeated by these dreamlike landscapes. He then promised himself that he would share this discovery with as many as possible and lived for a single goal: take a maximum number of people into the immensity of this sand. This led him to imagine an extraordinary journey originating in Europe. The route would then continue to Algiers before crossing Agadez and ultimately leading to Dakar. The plan quickly became a reality. The Paris-Dakar rally opened up an unknown world, one in which its creator, Thierry Sabine, was seen as a true pioneer. His motto then would be: “A challenge for those who go. A dream for those who stay behind.” Africa, a multi-faceted continent, in fact offered the perfect elixir, combining dreams with the world of competition. On 26 December 1978, the first ParisDakar took off from the Place du Trocadéro. That was 40 years ago…

After it was first inspired by Thierry Sabine, the Dakar went from strength to strength in Africa for 30 years before moving over to South America, its host for almost 10 years now. It has switched continents and grown in size, but has always remained faithful to the concept of its founder.The unique place held by the Dakar in the sporting world has been carried along year after year, spanning generations, in spite of the dramas it has faced. It is our challenge to perpetuate and underline the uniqueness of this event by finding the perfect balance between cutting-edge modernity and loyalty to a glorious past. This celebratory 2018 edition is a perfect opportunity to do exactly that. The Dakar’s return to Peru is a poignant reminder that, six years ago, a new chapter in the race’s history opened when it added a 27th country to its record, closely followed by its first visits to Bolivia and Paraguay. This years Rally Dakar led the participants along the west coast of the South American continent. Starting in Lima / Peru and then led via La Paz through Bolivia to Argentina. The destination was in Córdoba. On the way loops led the drivers up-country.

The victories achieved by Kevin Benavides in the bike race, Ignacio Casale in the quad category, Giniel de Villiers in the car race and Ton van Genugten in the truck category did not affect the positions at the top of the rally’s hierarchy. Matthias Walkner became the first Austrian winner on a bike, with Austrian brand KTM continuing to dominate the event thanks to a 17th consecutive success. For its last participation, Peugeot also retained the title, but this time only one of their cars was on the podium, namely the 3008 Maxi driven by winner Carlos Sainz. Under threat until the day before the finish from Federico Villagra, in the end Eduard Nikolaev obtained a third title behind the wheel of his Kamaz. As for Chilean Ignacio Casale, to win his 2nd Dakar he dominated the general standings from start to finish.
In total, 185 vehicles completed the 40th edition: 85 bikes, 32 quads, 49 cars including 6 SxS and 19 trucks, meaning 55% of the competitors that set out from Lima two weeks ago reached the finish.
The essentials
More open than ever before, the bike race soon produced its first surprise with the premature exit from the rally of Sam Sunderland in the dunes of San Juan de Marcona on only day 4 of the rally. The title holder and winner of 2 out of the first 3 stages left the field clear for a hungry chasing pack led by the new guard represented by Adrien van Beveren and Kevin Benavides. The two men challenged the usual domination of KTM, exchanging the lead in the general standings on several occasions. This battle was interspersed with exploits from Joan Barreda or Antoine Meo, before an intense and devastating tenth stage. A day which should have allowed the young Argentinean to triumph in his home country instead put an end to his hopes due to a terrible navigational error in the river beds of Belén towards the end of the special. He dragged a good number of the favourites down with him, including Toby Price, with Matthias Walkner and Van Beveren the only leading riders to come out unscathed. However, the Yamaha rider did not remain unharmed due to a terrible fall 3 km from the finish, which put the Austrian in sole command of the Dakar. Controlling the race perfectly up to the end of the event, at the age of 31 years the Austrian has grabbed the biggest prize of his career, allowing KTM to continue an incredible sequence of 17 consecutive triumphs…

The day after his first stage victory and the 10th of his career on the Dakar, Sébastien Loeb was forced to exit the race, undone by the Tanaka Desert’s dunes! It was not the first or last dramatic turn of events in this unpredictable and untameable Dakar: Nani Roma rolled out of the rally early, on the loop around Pisco, whilst Stéphane Peterhansel lost the lead of the rally following an accident on the marathon stage at Uyuni. Even a dunes specialist like Nasser Al Attiyah got stuck in the sand around San Juan de Marcona and lost more than one hour after just four days of racing! In the midst of this carnage, Carlos Sainz put in a faultless performance which nobody had been expecting from him. “El Matador” was precise in his attacks, reeled in the lead and then controlled the race with assurance behind the wheel of his 3008 Maxi. In Córdoba, he climbed onto the top step of the podium that is strikingly similar to that of 2010, when the Spaniard also beat Al Attiyah (by just 2 minutes). Giniel de Villiers finished in the top 3 for the 8th time in 15 participations, while Stéphane Peterhansel missed out, after slipping off the podium the day before the finish.

With three consecutive victories on the first three stages, Ignacio Casale spread panic among his rivals in the quad category. Sergey Karyakin, the distanced title holder, exited the rally injured, just like Rafal Sonik, the winner in 2015. In imperial form in the dunes, the Chilean was also able to boss the rest of the pack, whilst allowing leeway for expression on their home terrain to two young Argentineans who represent the future of the discipline: Nicolas Cavigliasso, 26 years old, and Jeremias González Ferioli, 22. The three men made up the final podium in this order.

Eduard Nikolaev started his eighth Dakar at one hell of a pace. Thanks to imperial performances in the Peruvian dunes, the 2017 champion soon opened up big gaps over all his rivals, except for the tenacious Federico Villagra. The Argentinean was the only driver able to take the battle to the Kamaz clan leader and had to grin and bear it during the first week, before putting the Russian under pressure as well as taking the general standings lead from him. However, a gearbox problem put paid to the Iveco driver’s hopes as he exited the race the day before the finish. This let Nikolaev triumph for the 3rd time on the Dakar. The runner-up, Siarhei Viazovich, finished the rally more than 4 hours behind him…
For the second year of the SxS category, Reinaldo Varela displayed superb consistency at the forefront of the category, with 5 stage victories enabling him to occupy the top step on the podium. The Brazilian was involved in a fierce battle with Frenchman Patrice Garrouste, who also picked up 5 stage wins.