Heroes of Bavaria in the LeMay Museum

BMW of North America LLC. is helping to launch the “Heroes of Bavaria – 75 Years of BMW Motorsports” exhibit at the museum on the evening of May 12. Seventeen of BMWs most iconic race cars from private collectors and the BMWUSA Classic Collection (owned by BMW NA) will chronical and celebrate BMW’s storied motorsports legacy.

“BMW has been a forward looking company throughout its 100+ year history and the race cars from our past truly exemplify the spirit of innovation and engineering that has made BMW what it is today” said Thomas Plucinsky, Head, BMW Group Product Communications and Head of BMWUSA Classic. “We are happy to share eight of our best BMWUSA Classic Collection race cars with visitors to the Heroes of Bavaria exhibit at the LeMay.”

Heroes of Bavaria was the brainchild of the BMW CCA Foundation last year and proved to be a popular exhibit for BMW club members and fans. “Who doesn’t love historic race cars? The premiere of Heroes of Bavaria was the buzz of the BMW enthusiast community in 2017, with people traveling from all over the United States and Europe to get a look” said Scott Dishman, Executive Director, BMW Car Club of America Foundation. “ACM’s debut of Heroes now brings the excitement to the west coast, and the Foundation is proud to have gotten it all started.” For its second major exhibit, the BMW CCA Foundation is preparing an exhibit titled THE ICON: 50 Years of the 2002. This exhibit will celebrate the legendary BMW 2002 model that cemented BMW’s reputation as a true driver’s car. THE ICON: 50 Years of the 2002 opens on May 18.

The Collection:
1. 1937 BMW 328 Roadster
2. 1961 700 RS Erstgebaute 700 RS
3. 1965 BMW 1800 TI / SA
4. 1972 BMW 3.0 CSL Gruppe 2 Rallye # 6 Rauro Aaltonen / John Davenport
5. 1977 BMW (E21) 320 Turbo IMSA Gruppe 5 # 2 David Hobbs
6. 1981 März-BMW 812 Formel 2 # 5 Christian Danner
7. 1981 März-BMW M1 / C IMSA # 2 David Hobbs / Mark Surer
8. 1986 BMW 635i ‘John Spieler Spezial’ Livery # 1
9. 1987 BMW (E30) M3 Korman Firehawk Serie # 28 Davy Jones
10. 1992 BMW (E36) M3 GTS-3 IMSA # 07 “Valvoline” Lackierung
11. 1994 BMW (E34) M5 Bridgestone Supercar # 2 David Donohue
12. 1994 BMW (E36) 320i Super Touring # 2 Paul Morris
13. 2000 BMW.Williams FW22 Formel 1 # 10 Ralf Schumacher
14. 2011 BMW (E92) M3 GT IMSA Meister # 56 Joey Hand / Dirk Mueller
15. 2015 BMW (E89) Z4 GTLM IMSA ‘BMW NA 40. Jahrestag’ Livery # 25 Auberlen / Werner / Farfus
16. 2017 BMW (F13) M6 GTLM IMSA “Bill Power” Livree # 25 Bill Auberlen / Alexander Sims / Kuno Wittmer