Michelin Challenge Design

Michelin announced the winners of the 18th Michelin Challenge Design. A top-class jury of automotive designers and industry experts selected the winning designs from more than 1,000 submissions from 67 countries. Permitted were works by individuals and teams of designers. The winners were selected on the international platform for sustainable mobility Movin’On by Michelin in Montreal, Canada.

The motto of this year’s edition of the design competition was:
“Michelin Concours d’Elegance 2050 – Future Classic”. The challenge for the participants was to design a vehicle for the year 2025, representative of the current era of automotive engineering in engineering and design, with the potential to become a classic at a fictional “Michelin Concours d’Elegance” in 2050 can win the victory.

The three best-placed designs are:

1. “DS Bertoni” by Georgii Varodi from St. Petersburg, Russia
2. “Mystique” by Harsh Panchal from Vadodara, India
3. “Bugatti Type 2050 SC Atlantic” by Boussid Mohammed Ramdane from Oran, Algeria

Other finalists of the Michelin Challenge Design 2019 (in alphabetical order)
Order): Oto Arantes (Brazil), “QuarantONE”; Guillermo Nicolas
Gaudioso, Facundo Castellano Davila and Lucas Basile (Argentina),
“EAL Concept”; Dong Hun Han (South Korea), “Ferrari Gothica Rossa 2025 Electric Hypercar Concept”; Tao Ni, Hua Chen, Yong Ni, Rui Xiong and
Yuan Tian (China), “Noah”; Maria Rydno (Russia), “Chanel”; Emilie
Sicot, Guillaume Mazerolle and Alexis Nguyen (France) “Aston Martin E-GO”.

“The Michelin Challenge Design celebrates innovations in vehicle design. The quality of this year’s submissions has been truly outstanding, “said Ben Ebel, lead user experience designer Michelin North America and chairman of Michelin Challenge Design. “We congratulate the winners for their innovative, thought-provoking and futuristic designs worthy of winning a ‘Michelin Concours d’Elegance’ in 2050.”

The first, second and third place finishers of this year’s Michelin Challenge Design were invited along with the winners of last year’s competition as guests of the Movin’On by Michelin. In addition to presenting their portfolio to the members of the jury, they also participated in a workshop on sustainable mobility.

Due to the unusually high quality contributions this year, the jury also honors the following four outstanding creations (in alphabetical order): Esteban Daniel Diaz Gonzalez and Lucas Colombo (Argentina), “Bi25”; Deven Khatri (United States), “AMAZ Concept”; Mihul Prakash (India), “Genesis ENTRADA”; Sergei Safin (Russia), “Legendary Drones”.