Historic Sportscar Racing Daytona

For the fourth time, the Historic Sportscar Racing Daytona 24 hours was held in November 2018 at the Daytona International Speedway in Florida. The track is 3.45 miles long and the participants rode in different classes. At the end there were six different overall victories. Each of the winners received one from the French luxury watch manufacturer B.R.M. manufactured special edition of a chronograph.

The overall victory of the 24-hour race was won in 2018 by team Jim Cullen and Franz Beck in Group A with their 1968 Lola T70. For the second time in a row team Harrold and Wheeler won in their red chevron B23 / 36 built in 1979 in the Chevron Group of the HSR Classic Daytona. The team Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott with their 1987 Celtic Speed Porsche 962 were able to clinch their second victory in a row in Group C. Other repeat winners were Team Mike Gaulke and Thomas Merrill in Group F with the 1974 Porsche 911 JWE Motorsports.

The team Steve Cohen and Ray Snowdon made it for the first time in the four-year history of the HSR Daytona Classic race that a prototype reached the class victory. They managed to get a clear lead in Group D with their Oldsmobile Aurora GTS prototype.

The B.R.M. Group B chronograph watch went to Walo Bertschinger and Italian sports car racing legend Arturo Merzario, who took first place in the GT class and third overall in their 1968 Corvette Roadster. The second B.R.M. Group D chronograph watch was awarded to Neil Primrose, the top winner of the prototype class, on his Daytona debut. Primrose, the drummer of the Scottish rock band Travis, overcame some early failures to overtake all other group D prototypes in his Lola B2K / 40.